Hungarian Chicken

Hungarian Chicken

As you may or may not be aware, our oven has resigned it’s position, leaving a skeleton staff behind.  Which, to be honest, is enough to still cook delicious food. Fortuitous, because as much as I love toast, it does lose it’s appeal if that’s the only heated food you can have.

So today I made a lovely pot of Hungarian Chicken which I have to say, was delicious.  However, before I go any further, I do have a slight confession to make.  I’m not sure it has any resemblance to Chicken cooked in a Hungarian style, the only thing that gave me the idea, is that I used smoked paprika which always reminds me of Hungarian food.  Which is good enough for me, but perhaps maybe not for the pedants amongst you.  If indeed there are any culinary pedants out there.

My reply would be that all recipes are eclectic, and this one is no exception.

Melt a knob of butter in some vegetable oil, salt and pepper a few chicken thighs, and cook in the oil for around ten minutes until all sides are browned.  Take out of the pan and replace with a sliced onion, red, yellow and orange pepper.  Cook for a couple of minutes then return the chicken to the pot, add a tin of tomatoes, a spoonful of harissa, and a teaspoon of smoked paprika.  Stir.  Sprinkle over a chicken stock cube, top up with boiled water, put the lid on, turn down the heat and simmer for an hour.

It is at this juncture that I should maybe explain that I don’t just love the smell and taste of smoked paprika, I also absolutely love the design of the tin.  In fact I invariably find myself drawn to beautifully designed products and will, if they’re not too expensive, buy them without really knowing what they’re for, or indeed whether I will ever use them.  I’m sure I’m not the only one…

Cook a pan of rice.  Serve.

Of course one of the advantages of cooking a one pot wonder is the washing up takes no time at all.

Silver linings and all that.

Leave a Reply

