Harissa and Cheese Omelette

Harissa and Cheese Omelette

Well, well, well, would you look at that.  After years of mismanaging eggs which miraculously transform themselves from omelettes to scrambled in the blink of an eye, I jolly well think I’ve cracked it.  (Pardon the pun).  So much so, that I have begun branching out from the no nonsense plain omelette.

*grins*

Today’s experiment is one that I will most definitely be trying again.  It was absolutely delicious.  All I did was add half a teaspoon of harissa paste to a couple of seasoned and gently whisked eggs.  Then, I pulled it about with a fork in a medium hot buttered pan before adding cheese, throwing one half of the omelette over the other and then turning.  And for those of you who have never had harissa, may I suggest you give it a go?

Harissa, according to wikipedia, is a Tunisian hot chilli pepper paste, the main ingredients of which are: roasted red peppers, serrano peppers, hot chilli peppers, spices, herbs such as garlic paste and coriander or caraway seed, as well as some vegetable or olive oil for preservation.  For me, it is a wonderful paste to add to anything where you would like it to have a little kick without being too chilli hot. Perfect, it turns out, for an omelette.

Meanwhile we are just starting the second May bank holiday weekend, which hasn’t come a moment too soon.  I’m unsure as to whether I may have an inherent lazy gene, but I really look forward to the weekends where we have very little planned thus allowing us, over a long drawn out period of time, to potter.  I have already started having a jolly good think about what I might accomplish and have mentally drawn up a ‘to do’ list.

Obviously these things take time, so today I may just do a little more contemplating. After all, there’s no rush…

Leave a Reply

