Scones

sultana and cherry scones

Due to unforeseen circumstances I have found myself having to spend quite a bit of time over the last day or so, lounging.  Why?  Because I inadvertently stood on a very sharp thorn whilst burning the final few bits of wooden debris in the garden. Unfortunately I had flip flop style footwear on at the time which allowed the thorn to pierce both the footwear and the foot.

I am aware that I really need to address the attire I decide to wear when gardening, as those who have known me a while will attest that I have an inability to walk past a bit of greenery without it scratching me in some way.  However, every time I venture into the garden, I am convinced that, this time, I will come away unscathed. Which is why in the spring and summer months, I regularly look akin to a self harmer.

Be that as it may, I have, as a consequence, been hobbling around like an old donkey, and therefore decided to self impose restricted movement in order to allow the puncture to heal.  I would like to think this episode was life’s little way of telling me to slow down.  Others may interpret the situation differently.  Either way it has afforded me a guilt free weekend of watching all sorts of items on the television, including a plethora of cookery programmes.  A consequence of which was that this morning I made my best attempt at an omelette, ever.

*takes a small bow*

Buoyed up by this milestone of a success, this afternoon I decided to knock together a few scones for afternoon tea.  Notice the very laissez faire attitude I now have.  It’s amazing what a little minor success can do to a girl’s culinary beliefs.

Anyway, I veered away from my usual recipe and plumped for a more traditional, heavy on the flour, light on the sugar and butter based recipe, which goes like this:

450g plain flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 2 tablespoons sugar, 55g butter, 250ml milk.  I added sultanas and cherries but they could always be replaced by cheese, just cut out the sugar and add a little english mustard powder.

Bake in a hot oven. gas mark 7, for 10 – 12 minutes, unless you have an oven like mine in which case you will need to keep them in for around 15 – 20 minutes. They’re delicious eaten warm with butter and jam.  Or just butter.  Or just jam.

Whichever is your penchant, there is something deeply satisfying and indulgent about lazy Sunday afternoon tea and scones.

Leave a Reply

