Goats Cheese Flan

Goats cheese flan

I very rarely make any kind of flan or quiche.  Not because I don’t enjoy it, but because, actually, I love the taste of the shop bought ones so much I just don’t see the point.  Why have a dog and bark yourself?

However, with the glut of vegetables that have come to us via the ‘veg box’ I am very quickly running out of innovative ideas as to how best utilise said veg.  And by that I mean how to utilise them where all my boys will eat them.  There is a subtle difference.

Making pastry is even lower down on the agenda than making a flan.  But that is where the similarity ends.  I am probably one of the worst pastry makers in the history of the artform – or at least up there.  Apparently you need to have cold hands to make good pastry, but it’s a sublty lost on me.  Thankfully I must not be alone, and as a consequence the niche has been filled by ready rolled wonderment.

*breathes a sigh of relief*

You may now be looking at the title of this post and beginning to suspect that as the goats cheese would not have come in the veg box, the reference to ‘the box’ may be irrelevant.  And you would be right-ish.  However, the flan does have a larger stash of items in it, but it doesn’t make for a catchy title.

So, here we go.  Unravel a short crust pastry roll into a tin and blind bake.  Now here’s a thing.  I’m also very rubbish at blind baking pastry properly.  I have the clay bean things and greaseproof paper, and actually do manage to combine the two in the proper manner these days, but somehow it falls short of what it should look like. That said, I shall continue to persevere as I think that when I eventually master it, I will probably have a disproportionately smug sensation that I will continue to carry around with me ad infinitum.

Caramelise an onion.  Now then, the proper way to do this is to slowly cook, in oil, a sliced onion sprinkled with salt for 15 – 20 minutes and then add sugar and balsamic vinegar.  However, as we are on the homeward stretch of giving up sugar (barring the odd relapse) I just slow fried my onion in oil and butter with a sprinkling of salt.

Spread the caramelised onion on the base of the cooked pastry.  Sprinkle over some purple sprouting broccoli, covering the onion.  Slice up a tube of goats cheese, so that the slices cover the broccoli.  Whisk up four eggs, add a little milk, salt and pepper.  Pour over the goats cheese and return to the oven, gas mark 6 for around 40 minutes.  Maybe more, maybe less.  You really just need to keep an eye on the flan after 30 minutes.  As soon as it’s stopped wobbling, job’s done, so whip it out and let it stand for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, it’s not everyday you find yourself experiencing two rainbows in two different places, within two minutes of each other.  Even more rare, in my limited experience, is actually seeing where the rainbow beings.

Today both these things happened which has left me with a very small tingle inside, and a reinvigorated suspicion that days full of rainbows, are magical.

Leave a Reply

