Wheatgrass

wheat grass

I know, I know, I know.  It may seem, to the outside eye, as though we have ventured down Gwyneth Paltrow Avenue, but I assure you, we are nowhere near.

Having given up sugar for two weeks and four days now, it seemed logical that we explore a few other healthy options to see how they might change our daily lives. So, we have also started having a shot of wheatgrass, home grown obviously, in the hope that we will both end up feeling full of the joys of Spring.

Now here’s the thing.  I have been doing a little light reading and whilst some changes to diet, such as the Atkins, is a whole load of balderdash, health wise, it seems that sugar has become the devil incarnate, and wheatgrass one of the sacred sites. To be honest, that’s not totally true, but it does seem to carry some healthy benefits.  If you cut it, juice it and drink it within a decent timeframe.

This is all well and good, but I can’t help thinking there is a little bit of a placebo effect taking place, and our timely choice to pump less ‘naughty food’ into our bodies, has more than a nod to the fact that Spring is round the corner.  But, you know what, I don’t mind if it is a little bit of a placebo effect.  In fact, I positively encourage it.  Because it’s not necessarily what you eat or drink on it’s own, that can give you the spring you’re looking for, but who you’re doing it with.

And I cannot think of anyone I’d rather be doing this with, than himself.

Leave a Reply

