Hummus

hummus

We are now on day four of no sugar, and my initial ‘rabbit in headlights’ approach is slowly being replaced with a more considered, less panic driven, one.

Now you may be thinking that I am revealing myself to be a bit of a numpty here, surely I should have considered the impact of giving up sugar and therefore have mentally prepared myself for the challenge ahead?  And if this is the case, what’s with the ‘rabbit in headlights’ scenario?

Well all I can say in my defence, is that I genuinely didn’t think I had so many sugar products in my life.  Yesterday I spent the day yearning for a pear.  Today I have had a coffee and, much to my chagrin, have realised that it only highlights my dependence (I usually have ‘just a spoonful’ of sugar in my coffee).

At the same time, I do not want to start going down the crisps and peanuts route simply because they don’t have sugar in them.  So I have, today, whipped up a little something which I love, and takes minutes to make.  Hummus.  Houmous. Hummous.  Spell it as you will, it all means the same.  A beautiful Levantine food comprising of chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, salt, lemon juice, cayenne or paprika and garlic.

Or combinations thereof.

You see the wonderful thing about Hummus is that you don’t have to use all the ingredients on the list to make a beautiful dip.  In fact, it is a very personal dish which you can, without fear of ruining the essence of it, adapt to your own desire. How splendid is that?

The other wonderous thing that has flooded the market (forgive me my slight exaggeration) is the tinned chick pea.  A joy, a pleasure and also the catalyst for the quickest Hummus making, bar none.

I whizzed up, with my trusty steed of a hand blender, one tin of drained chick peas, a clove of garlic, a pinch of cayenne and a glug of olive oil.  As the chick peas come in salted water I don’t add salt.  I don’t have any tahini in at the moment so left that out, and instead of just sprinkling cayenne on top of the dip I also added some into it and therefore decided to leave out the lemon juice.

So whilst the boys are merrily munching on malt loaf, we have had Jacob’s flatbreads dipped in hummus.

Delicious.

Leave a Reply

