Melanzane Parmigiana

aubergine parmesan

As you may or may not be aware, I am a dedicated devotee of the non sandwich lunch.

I do enjoy a sandwich, I just don’t want them to become a daily habit.  I realise that for some the sandwich just fills a hole, but for me, I feel I would be missing out on trying so many other things.  In fact lunchtime is often the only time I can experiment with different foodstuffs and eat what I really love, without feeling under pressure to satisfy a less than enthusiastic crowd.  However, you do need time in order to do this, so it doesn’t happen as often as I’d wish.

This week though, I managed to find time for a delicious home cooked lunch for one. Melanzane Parmigiana, or Aubergine Parmesan to you and me.  Eggplant if you’re across the water.  Although I am not particularly enamoured by the word eggplant. It has no romance.

However.

All you need is one aubergine, some tomato sauce (which consists of onions, tomatoes, tomato puree, oregano, olive oil, salt pepper, sugar, red wine (optional) and a splash of red wine vinegar), mozzarella and parmesan.

Make the tomato sauce, or, if you’re one step ahead of the game, get some out of the fridge that you’ve prepared earlier. Polish your halo.  Slice the aubergine thinly, brush with olive oil and fry until translucent.  Grate a generous amount of mozzarella and parmesan.

Put a little tomato sauce in the bottom of a dish, add a layer of aubergine another layer of tomato sauce and a layer of cheeses. Keep layering until the aubergine has all been used. Finish off with the cheese and place in the middle of the oven, gas mark 4, for 50 minutes.

Take out and leave it to gather itself together for a few minutes.

Enjoy alone, or with friends.

2 thoughts on “Melanzane Parmigiana

  1. Made this tonight….Took me a couple of hours as I didn’t know what I was doing or in what order but it finally all came together and it was delicious. Nigella’s recipes are simply the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

