Bourek

fish bourek

I have recently had a little ‘to do’ with a well known company, which has meant that I needed to take an unplanned trip into the city this week.  Thankfully all is well, and I can continue with my life ‘to do’ less.

This slight foray has afforded me the indulgence of visiting one of the most mouth-wateringly beautiful street market stalls in our local city market.  Trust me when I say they create take away food of wonder.  My absolute favourite of which, is Bourek.

Now I’m sure the majority of you who read this will nod in a sage like manner, and concur that Bourek is, indeed, a foodstuff of wonder and delight.  But for those of you who may not be so sure, I have the following, courtesy of Wikipedia:

Börek is a family of baked filled pastries made of a thin flaky dough known as phyllo, found in the cuisines of the former Ottoman Empire.  It can be filled with cheese, often feta, sirene or kaşar; minced meat, vegetables (or fish)

What it doesn’t tell you, is that it is absolutely delicious.  Cafe Moor, the market stall in question, compliments the Bourek with a little light lettuce, tomato and red onion salad, a spicy salsa and a wonderful aubergine affair – just enough to whet the palette but not overwhelm the dish.  My oh my, this is the stuff you will dream about.  And what’s more, I do.

Meanwhile, tomorrow is Thanksgiving for all our friends who originate from that little known group of states called America.  I absolutely love the idea of just thanking everyone.  That’s it.  No strings, no ties, just thank-you.

So, to all of you who celebrate, Happy Thanksgiving.

To everyone who reads this blog whether you celebrate or not, thank-you so much for reading.

And for anyone who’s interested, I have cake on the go if you fancy popping over…

Leave a Reply

