Chocolate & Nut Cookies

Chocolate & Nut cookies

Now this is the thing.  I know that we are a small global community, which, with the help of NASA and other crazy groups of people, is getting smaller every day.  So it really shouldn’t concern me in the slightest whether something is called a cookie or a biscuit.

But my confession of the day is this.  It is something, like the misspelling of you’re, that I am finding very difficult to get past.  Don’t ask me why, I have no idea. Therefore, I must apologise to all those living in the little village of America, reading this blog, who have taken the word cookie to their hearts.  I’m afraid as hard as I try, I am still not at ease with it’s presence in my vocabulary.

All that said, if I read a recipe that calls itself a cookie, that is what I call it.  I have no intention of cutting my nose off to spite my face.

And so it is, that I have found myself quickly whipping up a batch of someone else’s recipe for cookies.  Well, Jamie Oliver’s to be honest.

The reason for this wee foray into the land of cookies, is that I am taking a couple of things to a parents evening tonight, and thought it may be appropriate to take something dairy free, which this recipe is.  Not only that, but it is also made up of icing sugar, cocoa, vanilla, pecan nuts, hazelnuts and a pinch of salt. That’s it.  I mean, what could possibly go wrong?

Except that the recipe states that I should have vanilla paste, which I don’t, so I have just added vanilla extract.  In my book, if my ingredient has a hint of similarity to the one requested, that’s good enough for me.  I mean, I’m a little busy today and just don’t have the time to even contemplate what a vanilla paste should be.

Onwards and upwards.  Surprisingly, all has gone extremely well, and I have found myself with a perfectly formed batch of dairy free chocolate and nut cookies.

My only concern now is, can I really bring myself to share?

Leave a Reply

