Imperfections

imperfection

There has been an awful lot of discussion regarding imperfection, and, conversely, perfection, over the last few days, in my world.

As some of you may know, it was the final this week of The Great British Bake Off, or as it’s referred to on twitter #GBBO.  Nancy won.  Nancy, who despite having many imperfections in her bakes, and no where near as strong a final bake visually as Luis, was what Mary Berry called, ‘A good home cook.’

I’m not too sure whether it was said with a pinch of sarcasm, but either way, Nancy won the illusive glass plate.

Similarly, I have been experiencing imperfections in my cooking this week.  I have tried baking Hummingbird buns, and have made a large sausage curl. Both recipes have not been major successes, although I wouldn’t call them failures.  I suppose it all depends on where you set your bench mark really, but, as Thomas Edison once said,

‘I have not failed, I have just found 10,000 ways that won’t work’

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is one hell of a mantra to live by.  We spend so much energy relating imperfection to a negative, instead of celebrating its positives.

As an offshoot of #GBBO there was a programme called GBBO – An Extra Slice. The most popular section of this, I’m sure, was where members of the public sent in photos of the efforts they had made at home.  Full of glorious imperfections, and so much more interesting than the ‘here’s one I made earlier’ philosophy.

Ironically on the #GBBO I noticed that all the girls started waring false eyelashes, and couldn’t help but wonder how the medium of television tries its best to wipe out imperfection.

But back in my little world I count myself very lucky.   Any negative thoughts of my obvious imperfections both in body and baking are so often eradicated by my glorious wee boy.

Him:  Nice Hummingbird buns

Me:  Winks at wee boy

Him:  You’re so beautiful mummy

And once again my heart just melts.

Leave a Reply

