Chocolate and Cherry Brownies

photo (98)

Well, well, well, what a weekend.   Guess what.  I have made an extraordinary discovery which I would like to share with you.

Gluten free cakes do not have to taste of cardboard.

Really?

Yes.  Really.

And I know this because I have spent the afternoon behind a table full of the things persuading people to eat them, and let me tell you, no-one left that table without wearing the relaxed cake face we all sport having bitten into a great piece of cake.

And that was when they were on their third piece.

To be fair there was one cake which I just couldn’t bring myself to champion and, as a consequence, it remained forlornly isolated from the other cakes displayed.  I think we’ll just brush over that one.

Now I realise that not everyone is confident when it comes to making gluten free stuff and prefer to make things that wouldn’t have flour in them anyway. But if you fancy giving it a go, may I recommend chocolate and cherry brownies?  They are, without exception, delicious.

Furthermore they are an absolute doddle to make.

Melt 185g of both dark chocolate and butter together, allow to cool.  Whilst that is going on, whisk 250g of caster sugar, 3 eggs and a teaspoon of vanilla extract.  You will need to whisk in a machine for about 10 minutes so that it’s fluffy and light.  I have a fabulous retro Kenwood Chef which although many years old having once belonged to my mum, does the job perfectly.  I’m guessing a hand held electric whisk would do just as good a job but it would then mean that you were slightly debilitated in terms of being able to do anything else.

Mix 110g of gluten free flour, I used the Dove brand as it was recommended*, with 200g of washed and halved cherries.   Now the recipe I followed said use sour cherries, but my local supermarket didn’t have any sour cherries so I bought glace ones instead which seemed to do the trick.  I am going to try the recipe with sour cherries next time.  I’ll let you know how I get on.

Meanwhile, when the whisked egg mixture is soft and fluffy add the chocolate and butter combo, then the flour and cherries.  Pour into a greased tray, put in the oven and bake for 30 minutes at gas mark 4.

Bring out, and leave to go cold.  Cut and serve.

One thing to note, although this is the first time I have made them, I didn’t expect them to be quite as crumbly as they were, so popped them into the fridge for half an hour to solidify them slightly, which seemed to do the trick.

What with partying, baking and generally all the other doing things which have happened over the last few days, it is time to take a slight pause.

So I am going to spend the next hour or so, staring into space…

*how2bglutenfree

Leave a Reply

