Coleslaw

photo (61)

 

Funnily enough, I am not a big fan of coleslaw.  Having only really experienced shop bought or fast food outlet coleslaw I have always found it to be too sloppy, soggy and overwhelmed with what I always presumed was mayonnaise.  Therefore I have always put myself into the ‘not for me’ corner.

That is, until a couple of years ago when I was working on a project, and someone wanted to make coleslaw.   So, we grated a few carrots, chopped up a couple of onions, and finely sliced a white cabbage.  These were all tossed together in a large bowl where a splash of lemon juice, salt, pepper and a few dollops of mayonnaise were added.

I tell you what, it’s absolutely fabulous.  The vegetables are crunchy, the mayonnaise not too overwhelming, the flavours a wonderful accompaniment to other foods, chips especially.  Obviously, the down side is the vegetables cannot be left too long in each other’s company if you want to keep the crunch, as they begin to soften. However, there are so many plus sides to this bowl of perfection that it is completely worth over indulging to ensure the whole lot is finished off.

And I’ll tell you something else as well, it’s as cheap as chips to make.

*grins in a self satisfied manner*

 

Leave a Reply

