Quick Passata

Image-1 (3)

Some days just fly away with you, and before you know it, the sun has set and you’re caught off guard wondering who stole the time.  Today was one of those days, but I did manage to make a passata sauce for a meal I’m cooking tomorrow, which although probably not done in the correct way, always tastes delicious.

And this is how I do it.

Chop red onions and add to a pan of oil with a whole heap of ripe chopped tomatoes, and perhaps a tin of tomatoes as well if you feel like it.  Add tomato puree, salt, pepper, sugar and a splash of red wine vinegar and let it simmer for a while.

Stir occasionally and ‘quality control’ for balance of flavours.  Little tip here, best to add too little seasoning to start with and build up the flavour.  It’s a nightmare trying to counter balance too much of something.

When all the ingredients have had time in the pan to get to know each other, turn off the heat and allow to cool.

Blend.

Now I know that is should be strained so that none of the seeds or skins of the tomatoes are left, but I don’t mind them hanging about in the mix.  So for me, that’s it.

I am using the passata as a base for pizzas tomorrow, and I’ll let you into a secret.  I don’t always use pizza bread bases either.

Culinary rebel.  That’s me.

Leave a Reply

