Eating Mango

photo (42)

I absolutely love mangos.  The colour, the texture, the sweetness and the fact that they’re bloody difficult to cut open properly.  This means that when you do eventually get into the fruit there is an overwhelming sense of achievement completely disproportionate to the action.  But guess what? I’ve found a cheat.  Did you know that there are packets of mango, already cut, in the frozen section of the supermarket?  The wonders of modern day living eh?  Anyway…

Today we have been smoothie biking, and alongside the strawberries, bananas, cherries, raspberries, blueberries and pineapple, the golden cubes of mango have done a stirling job in adding sunshine.

However, there are still some people who haven’t experienced the delights of mango, and as a consequence, I have had the following conversation quite a few times today:

Them:  What’s that?

Me:  Mango.

Them:  Pulls a funny face.

Me: (enthusiastically) It’s delicious.

Pause

Me:  Would you like to try some?

Them:  No love.  I don’t think it’s for me.

Me:  (Not wanting to give up) Have you had it before?

Them:  I think I’ll just have banana

Me:  Right.

You see the thing is, I never want to force someone to eat something which may put them off for life, but I am always amazed that with mango, people don’t look at it, fall in love with the colour, and just give it a go.  I mean, what is there not to love?

Never mind, it left more for those who, like me, are fully fledged members of the eating mango gang.

Leave a Reply

