Being Healthy

Image

Today has brought some interesting developments.

I managed to not even entertain breakfast – a combination of having no food plan, and desperately trying to be places on time. However, I did manage to slot in a cheekie bit of potato salad, made by my own fair hand, but in all honesty, it’s not difficult.  Potatoes and mayonnaise (Helmans, not mine).  Not really that impressive, but fantastic eaten in sunshine, with my wee boy.

So, we are driving from one destination to another, chatting about what we should have for dinner, and the wee one suggests the following:  rice, broccoli, cauliflower, chick peas and soy sauce.  Hmmmm.  He has this for lunch every Thursday and has decided that it would be a great idea to have it again.

Of course, alongside the general la di da of the day is the usual dysfunctional goddess scenario which panned out something like this.

I parked my car in an extortionately expensive spot, for one hour only, then completely forgot that I needed to feed the machine until approximately two hours later.  So, tentatively, I make my excuses and fly down to the machine, buy more time and creep around the corner to where the car is parked, fearing the worst, hoping for the best.  I figure, even if I have a parking ticket, I will write a letter explaining the circumstances.

I approach the car and breathe a huge sigh of relief.

No ticket.

Now some may be thinking at this point, ‘What is your problem?’, ‘Why is this such an issue?’  Well, although I would love to park, pay and casually stride off, bag draped beautifully over my perfect for the day outfit, what happens in reality is that I’m usually late, and find myself, knowingly, not getting it right.  Consequently, I have probably had more parking tickets than I’ve had seaside holidays.

We buy the ingredients and once home, cook the rice in chicken stock, steam the vegetables, then put the other ingredients in with the drained rice, add the veg (crunchy) and, bingo, dinner is served.

You know what, it’s really tasty.  Nigella watch out, there’s a 4 year old who may be small, but definitely has his eyes looking towards the culinary stars.

And me?  I feel I have ticked, in pencil, an ‘I’ve eaten healthily today’ box.  Job done.

Leave a Reply

