Starting out…

American Pancakes

So here we are, 23.23 on 16 June 2014 and I’m starting out with my story of how, over many years, I have been fascinated by the idea of being a domestic goddess.  It’s not just about cooking, although, thanks to Nigella, I have, and will continue to have, a deep fascination and love for the idea of creating delicious food.

But alongside my, and many others love of the books, programmes, radio shows and all types of media, I find myself caught up in the notion that we can create perfection, whilst being dumfounded that as I trawl through life, it just never seems to work out that way.

Let’s begin with breakfast.

American pancakes.  Probably my favourite breakfast recipe of all time.  Why?  Because every time I make them, without fail, they work.  Almost.

To be honest, I did try them with gluten free flour once and it was, as they say,  an unmitigating disaster.  Actually, that’s not quite right.  A slight, shall we say, exaggeration.  They were just floppy, sludgy, slightly grey (don’t ask me why), and only edible with a whole heap of syrup loaded onto them. 

The other very strange thing is, I can never remember the quantities and so always have to go to page 77 of ‘How to be a Domestic Goddess’ to reassure myself that I know what I’m doing.  Nine times out of ten, I’m right.  I did, however, get cocky one time and dismissed the need for the book.  

That morning we had very excitable pancakes made with bicarbonate of soda and not baking powder.  Nigella would never have done this.  A rookie mistake.

 

 

Leave a Reply

